About the British Virgin Islands

The British Virgin Islands (not to be confused with the U.S. Virgin Islands) is a small archipelago of 4 main islands and many smaller islands in the Caribbean Sea.

There are around a total of 60 islands here, but only 16 are inhabited!

Being an archipelago, it has no bordering countries. Its nearest neighbours, however, are Bermuda to the north, Anguilla to the east, U.S Virgin Islands to the south and south-west and Puerto Rico to the west.

This small group of islands has a combined area of 59 square miles (153 square kilometres).

BVI’s population was 32,680 in 2014.

Residents here are referred to as ‘British Virgin Islanders’, just in case you were wondering!

The capital city is called Road Town and has a population of 9,400 (2004).

The terrain here is relatively flat on the coral islands, with the volcanic islands showcasing beautiful rolling hills – perfect for gentle expeditions.

The above background information was quoted from: https://cherry-call.co.uk